DUI Penalties In Pennsylvania

At the Law Office of Chad M. Salsman, first-time offenders, second offenders and habitual offenders are defended with the same commitment. Attorney Salsman is passionate about defense work and advocating for your best interests and best possible outcome. He represents clients from Athens to Tunkhannock from our office in Towanda for reasonable and affordable fees.

Pennsylvania DUI penalties are strict, and conviction will hit you with a permanent criminal record. Retaining an experienced lawyer to help you minimize the penalties and have the chance of getting the charges against you dismissed is less costly and far less risky than the alternatives.

It pays to have a strategic and aggressive lawyer on your side who will work to protect your driver's license and your rights in the face of damaging DUI charges.

First-time DUI offenders face different penalties and opportunities.

DUI Penalties For Second-Time, Third-Time And Subsequent Offenders

Second-time DUI offenders and multiple-time DUI offenders all face significant and life-altering penalties regardless of BAC level. The penalties that you will face depend on a number of factors, including:

  • BAC level
  • What number offense this is for you
  • If you were convicted on a prior DUI charge within the last 10 years
  • If you were driving with a suspended or revoked driver's license
  • If you violated other traffic laws
  • If you caused bodily injury or property damage to someone else with your vehicle
  • If you are under the age of 21 or if you are a minor under age 18

The penalties for second-time DUI offenders and multiple-time DUI offenders (mandatory minimum jail time, fines in the thousands of dollars, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, other required drug and alcohol treatment imposed by the judge and up to 150 hours of community service) increase substantially in accordance with your level of impairment at the time of arrest and how many prior DUI convictions you have had.

As stated, the charges against you depend on a number of factors, but DUI charges are generally organized as follows:

  • General impairment is defined as BAC of .08 but less than .10
  • High rate of blood alcohol is a BAC of .10 but less than .16
  • Highest rate of blood alcohol is a BAC of .16 or higher
  • Causing bodily injury, vehicle damage or property damage with a high rate of blood alcohol is a different charge with different but similar penalties

License Suspension And Ignition Interlock

  • License suspension: Second-time, third-time and subsequent offenders will face license suspension of 12 or 18 months.
  • License revocation: Third-time and subsequent offenders will face license revocation for five years, and additional offenses within a five-year period will cause an additional two-year revocation.
  • Ignition interlock device and restricted license: A second DUI conviction within 10 years is penalized with the installation of an ignition interlock device and restricted license at your own expense for one year, which is not only an inconvenience but also embarrassing.

Penalties For Minors

Drunk driving offenders under 18 may be penalized as juveniles, but drivers ages 18 to under 21 face penalties on par with adult penalties, which can reach beyond one year in jail and up to $10,000 in fines for multiple offenders.

Protect Your Future — Call The Law Office Of Chad M. Salsman

DO NOT enter criminal justice proceedings without a highly qualified defense lawyer. Mr. Salsman will handle all legal aspects of your case and fight for your best possible outcome. He knows how to counter prosecution tactics and minimize the penalties you face. A conviction and the consequences will have profound consequences on the rest of your life, including job and education opportunities, driving privileges, ability to secure loans and more.

Please email or call the office today at 570-316-4037 or toll free at 800-655-5414 to schedule a meeting with attorney Salsman.